View Single Post
Old 09-05-2013, 02:19 PM   #47 (permalink)
Mern
FitDay Member

To parody an old TV commercial, "I'm not a doctor, I just play one on FitDay." LOL But I'd also like to reiterate that one should not take vitamins or supplements without first discussing it with ones doctor because those things do change our blood chemistry and may affect how any medications and other vitamins, and supplements are absorbed. Too much of anything is not good for us. For example, after reviewing my blood test results, food logs (yes, my doctor actually analyzed my FitDay food logs I printed out!) and reading the label of my low carb protein powder which is fortified with vitamins and minerals, she told me to stop taking my daily multi-vitamin because I didn't need it and an overdose of vitamins and supplements can be harmful.

Hope, thanks for noticing I misunderstood which day you went to the gym. Again, kudos on your water and positive attitude. Ooh, I didn't know any insurance companies who cover gym memberships mandate members going three days a week. Those of us who have any health insurance gym coverage are very fortunate. I haven't been going to the gym--have just been doing my exercise DVD. I need to start planning my meals again, too. I'll preplan today's after I post this.

Robin, I'm glad you have the opportunity to pay for extra optional insurance, but it would be great if you could qualify for some sort of group rate discount. Thanks for reiterating the caution to discuss any dietary changes with one's doctor. That is so important.

Mel-Mc, great eating day yesterday! Way to go! That extra water may help your sinuses by thinning out the congestion. A pharmacist also told me extra water is as good as an over-the-counter expectorant for chest congestion when one has a cold.